Thursday, September 14, 2017

The Silk Weaver's Wife by Debbie Rix



A heart-wrenching and unforgettable story of two women – centuries apart – linked by the hidden secrets of a beautiful woman in a Venetian painting. 

Venice 1704: Anastasia is desperate to escape her controlling father and plans to marry her childhood sweetheart. But instead of the life she has always dreamed of, she finds herself trapped in Venice, the unwilling wife of a silk weaver.

Anastasia seeks comfort in painting and draws strength from her talents. Despite her circumstances, two women reach out to her and give Anastasia a reason to hope. And together they make a momentous decision which will change all of their lives…

London 2017: Millie wants more from her relationship and more from her life. So when her boss Max abruptly ends their affair, she takes the opportunity to write a feature in Italy.

Staying in a gorgeous villa, Millie unexpectedly falls in love with the owner, Lorenzo. Together they begin to unravel an incredible story, passed down through generations of women. 

And Millie finds herself compelled to discover the identity of a mysterious woman in a portrait…

A richly evocative and utterly page-turning story about lost secrets, family heirlooms and love against all odds. The Silk Weaver’s Wife is perfect for readers who enjoyed Island of Secrets, The Secret Wife and Amy Snow.

REVIEW

The Silk Weaver's Wife by Debbie Rix is a novel about two women who lived 300 years apart in Venice. 

In 1700 Veneto, Anastasia Balzarelli's father forces her to abandon Marco. the man she attempted to elope with in order to wed a wealthy man in the silk industry. He takes her to his home in Venice and locks her up an upper bedroom for months. Each night he rapes her, hoping to beget a child. Deprived of her freedom, she spends long hours each day drawing insects. 

In contemporary times, Millie is a journalist in love with a married man who has just dumped her to return to his wife. Heartbroken she is sent from her home in the UK to Italy to report on the country's silk industry. She is booked into a beautiful country villa near Venice and is escorted about by the handsome owner, Lorenzo. Millie finds joy and contentment - that is until her ex-lover shows up repentant and ready to lay claim to her again. An old portrait of a beautiful young woman haunts Millie and she sets off to discover who she was and how her portrait came to hang in Lorenzo's villas. 

Both of the women's stories kept me enthralled and turning pages. The novel is rich with plot twists, secrets, and ever evolving characters who intrigued me. Author Debbie Rix has done a great job in researching the Veneto region (my family's own roots) with accurate descriptions that lent a great deal of atmosphere to the story's setting. Definitely a must read!