Thursday, October 27, 2016

THE GIRL IN THE CASTLE by Santa Montefiore

"Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore." - JOJO MOYES
International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the twentieth century—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.
Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill is special as her grandmother has always told her. Built on the stunning green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill is Kitty’s beloved home, where many generations of Deverills have also resided. Although she’s Anglo-Irish, Kitty’s heart completely belongs to the wild countryside of the Emerald Isle, and her devotion to her Irish-Catholic friends Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the castle’s cook, and Jack O’Leary, the vet’s son, is unmatched—even if Jack is always reminding her that she isn’t fully Irish. Still, Jack and Kitty can’t help falling in love although they both know their union faces the greatest obstacles since they are from different worlds.
Bridie cherishes her friendship with Kitty, who makes her feel more like her equal than a servant. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having all the wealth and glamour Kitty’s station in life affords her. But when she discovers a secret that Kitty has been keeping from her, Bridie finds herself growing resentful toward the girl in the castle who seems to have it all.
When the Irish revolt to throw over British rule in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight. Worried for her safety, Jack warns Kitty to keep her distance, but she refuses and throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But as Kitty soon discovers, her allegiance to her family and her friends will be tested—and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.
A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland.

OPINION:

THE GIRL IN THE CASTLE has to be one of the best books I've read in a long time. It's the first book in a trilogy about two Irish families and the estate they inhabit. It's an intense family saga with a handful of fascinating characters who evolve and change as circumstances dictate. 

The book is not short on plot twists, and there is even a fabulous rags to riches thread that has left me hanging and waiting eagerly for the next book. The setting starts in Ireland in 1925 and moves forward at a steady pace. Lovely descriptions, incredible ever-developing characters, and an old beloved family castle lend an appeal that transcends each page and left me wanting more at the end. This the exact kind of book that I love. I am eagerly waiting for the next installment and I'm adding Santa Montefiore to my list of favorite authors! Loved, loved, loved this story!