Wednesday, September 9, 2015

The Golden Earrings by Belinda Alexander

Opening Paragraph: It was 24 November, the day after the funeral of Generalisimo Franco, the dictator of Spain, that I saw my first ghost. The morning started off ordinarily enough. I woke at six o'clock and stretched my arms and legs before slipping out of bed. It was still dark and I turned on the bedside lamp with its floral shade. By its mottled light, I pulled on my leotard and tights.

Back Cover Blurb: For fans of Colleen McCullough, Kate Morton, and Lucinda Riley, a powerful saga of family, love, honor, and betrayal set in historical Barcelona and romantic Paris, from the author of Tuscan Rose.

“You who judge me: come! Let me tell you a story…” Paloma Batton is the granddaughter of Spanish refugees who fled Barcelona after the Civil War. A disciplined student attending the school of the Paris Opera Ballet, Paloma lets little get in the way of her career until she receives a mysterious pair of golden earrings. She begins exploring her Spanish heritage and becomes fascinated by la Rusa, a woman who rose from poverty to become one of the great flamenco dancers of modern times before committing suicide. As Paloma begins to unravel the secrets of the past, she discovers more than one person who had good reason for wanting la Rusa dead—including Paloma’s own grandmother. Written with the same depth and emotion as Belinda Alexandra’s “rich, unforgettable saga” (Kimberly Freeman, author of Wildflower HillTuscan RoseGolden Earrings moves between two of the great cities of Europe: Barcelona in the lead-up to the Civil War and Paris in the 1970s. It is the story of two women and the extremes to which they are willing to go for love. And above all, it is a story of great passions—and great betrayals—where nothing is quite as it seems.

Review by Mirella Patzer


A stunning cover introduces an equally stunning story!  This time, Belinda Alexander sweeps readers into the tumultuous period of the 1970's Civil War in Spain. Through the eyes of a compelling protaganist named Paloma Batton, we are introduced to Spain's gypsies and the art of Flamenco dancing. Along with Paloma, the story involves her grandmother, who has plenty of secrets in her past. As Paloma sets out to unravel the past, she also learns about the deceit and tragic circumstances that colored their past. I love that there is a hauntingly beautiful ghost that appears. It's well done and believable! The story moves between Barcelona and Paris. Like all of Belina Alexander's stories, she combines fiction with historical fact about the issues and turmoils in the various countries that make up her settings. Yet another stunner by this fabulous author!


Thank you to the author and publisher. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Amazon USA       Amazon Canada       Amazon UK