Thursday, July 3, 2014

Gracie by Marie Maxwell

PUBLISHER'S BLURB

Can you ever escape your past?

Gracie McCabe is building a new life for herself in the Essex seaside town of Southend working alongside best friend Ruby; she’s put her past to rest and is planning her future. All that is missing is a family of her own, Gracie desperately wants a baby so when boyfriend Sean proposes she accepts without hesitation.


But a chance meeting before the wedding gives her doubts and when old secrets come back to haunt her, it seems that Sean is not the rock of strength she expected him to be. Will Gracie find her happy ever after or will she be betrayed and abandoned once again?


The hard-hitting and heartbreaking new novel from the author who bought you Ruby. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.


REVIEW

Gracie and Ruby share a past in that they both had babies out of wedlock. Ruby kept contact with her daughter, Maggie, but Gracie had to give her son up for adoption. I haven’t read Ruby, but put together pieces of the backstory, so have a good idea of what happened. The two girls formed a close bond through their hard times, but remain optimistic and fun-loving.

In the following years, they are both working together running the hotel in Southend that Ruby has inherited, hoping their pasts are behind them.

When Gracie’s boyfriend Sean proposes on New Year's Eve, she is desperate to have a home and family of her own to wipe out past grief, but is Sean the right man to do this with?  Cracks appear in their relationship before the wedding, when Gracie meets the handsome Edward, creating doubts, and the fact she had made a decision to keep her past from him does not bode well, especially with the shadow of a vicious mother who has never forgiven Gracie for the shame she brought on her family.


This is just my sort of romance, where the characters know exactly what is expected of them in an era where the rules were clear and straying from them was rarely forgiven. The period setting and descriptions of 1950s Southend are authentic and colourful. The characters are strong and well rounded, the emotions well handled and there is plenty of action which keeps the pace of the story going.


Anita Davison is a Historical Fiction Author whose latest release, ‘Royalist Rebel’ a biographical novel set in 17th Century England, is released by Claymore Press under the name Anita Seymour

=============================================
BLOG: http://thedisorganisedauthor.blogspot.com
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/anita.davison?
GOODREADS: http://www.goodreads.com/AnitaDavison
TWITTER: @AnitaSDavison
=============================================